Rock star.



Who is Luce?

Luce knows what you’re thinking and feeling.
Luce can kill you or bring you back from the dead.
Luce can blow your mind with a look, a touch, a kiss.
Once you’ve met Luce, nothing will ever be the same.

Was Luce a man or a woman? Human or divine?
A genetic quirk, an avatar or merely the greatest artist who ever lived?
Luce went by many names and wore many masks.
I am the one Luce called The Scribe, the one chosen to tell the story.
I am the only one who knows the truth.
This is the truth.
This is The Book of Luce.

The quest for Luce led me to the farthest corners of the earth and into the deadliest danger. I lost everything and everyone I loved … except for Luce.

My obsession began in the magical year 1967, at Luce and the Photons’ legendary last secret gig. That night changed my life: I had to know who Luce was. But the deeper I dug, the more questions I turned up. Was Luce a rock star or a pretender? A genius or an acid trip? My redemption … or my delusion?

Drawn into the machinations of mysterious powers, I became the dark shadow who followed the light of Luce. But who followed me? Were they agents of evil or figments of my imagination? And do they follow me still?






Death and Beauty, Magic and Science

Lord Francis Damory’s Quest for the Elixir of Immortality

In the brothels and debtors’ prisons of Georgian London and the gilded salons of the Ancien Règime, through love affairs and deadly duels, among courtesans and castrati, alchemists and anatomists, visionaries, monsters, charlatans and spies …

From Paris to Venice and across the pirate-infested Mediterranean to Egypt, Cyprus and distant Constantinople, in pursuit of his mysterious ancestor Tobias the Alchemist … who may yet still be alive.

Read more>>



Booker-nominated and short-listed for the

Authors’ Club First Novel Award

“Farundell is a marvellously dark and intricate literary gothic novel. The style is elegant and engaging and the storyline compelling. This is an author to watch.” – Joanne Harris, author of Chocolat.

In the golden summer of 1924 Paul Asher, still shattered by the trauma of the First World War, comes to Farundell, an idyllic country house set deep in the Oxfordshire countryside.  There, he falls under the spell of the rich and eccentric Damory family: the celebrated Amazon explorer Perceval, Lord Damory, now blind and dying, whose story echoes Paul’s own strange dreams, brilliant thirteen-year-old Alice, on the cusp of adulthood and, like Paul, a seeker of knowledge and, most fatefully, the wild and beautiful Sylvie, with whom he falls passionately in love…